ADUKey The key to your ADU — rules, permits, and verified builders, city by city.

ADUs in Vista, CA

✓ Verified November 1, 2026 Rules, fees, and timelines below were verified November 1, 2026. Anything marked “confirm” or “to verify” is still open.

Read this first: a strong page with four flagged conflicts
Vista is a strong page, not a banner city. No HCD noncompliance letter for Vista was found, and the city publishes genuinely useful material: a 10-option pre-approved plan library with exact sizes and waived plan-check fees, and an ADU Fee Waiver Program for affordable rentals. The live tensions are flagged, not resolved: stacked ADUs (a single builder source contradicts itself), building separation (5 ft vs 6 ft), submission route (in-person only vs online-or-in-person), and code currency (the fullest code copy retrieved reflects code through October 2022).
Jurisdiction check — read this first.
Some properties with Vista mailing addresses fall under County of San Diego regulations, not city rules (builder guide) — confirm city vs county jurisdiction per parcel before relying on Vista rules.
Townsite Specific Plan (SP-TS) properties follow their specific plan, but state ADU law still permits an ADU and JADU there (builder guide).

Does it apply to my lot? — address check

Enter a San Diego County street address. The checker geocodes it and checks public transit stops nearby. Privacy: your typed address goes directly from your browser to OpenStreetMap's free Nominatim geocoder and the public SanGIS transit-stops layer. It never touches an ADUKey server — ADUKey has no server endpoint for this, so there is nothing to send it to.

Parking-exemption rule: no parking required within a 1/2-mile walking distance of public transit (bus stops included). Straight-line distance is measured first: a straight-line miss is definitive, a straight-line hit is provisional until the walking route is checked.

What you can build

RuleWhat appliesNote
Detached ADU max sizeUp to 1,200 sq ft (builder guides)Builder guides (SnapADU snapshot + body; Proteus). SnapADU adds: ADUs up to 800 sq ft are exempt from lot-coverage requirements. Bedroom breakdown is Suncoast-only (builder guide): 850 sq ft maximum for studios or 1-bedroom units; 1,200 sq ft maximum for 2-bedroom units; no more than 2 bedrooms for an ADU — label it as such; do not publish it as code text without confirmation.
Attached ADU sizeMay not exceed 50% of the primary dwelling's square footage, or 1,200 sq ft, whichever is less, but not less than 800 sq ft (builder guides)Builder guides (SnapADU; Suncoast states the 50% rule plus the same 850/1,200 bedroom caps).
Height — detached16 ft maximum, single story, unless built above a garage. Above a detached garage: the ADU may occupy the entire second floor while the entire first floor remains a garage; it cannot be split between two levels. Within a half mile of major transit stops or high-quality transit corridors: 4 ft side/rear setbacks up to 18 ft, plus 2 ft (20 ft total) if roof pitch matches the primary dwellingBuilder guides (SnapADU; Suncoast; Proteus). Above-garage tension flagged, not resolved: 16 ft from second floor to peak (Suncoast) vs zone height limit (SnapADU) — confirm with the city. Near-transit height is state law via SnapADU.
Stacked / two-story ADUsContradictory — October 2025 city-attorney position 'not allowed' vs July 2026 written 'allowed' (both via SnapADU). Confirm in writing per parcel; do not publish either position as settledGenuine internal contradiction in a single builder source, flagged not resolved. See FAQ.
Setbacks4 ft minimum side and rear. An ADU taking advantage of the 4 ft setbacks cannot exceed 16 ft; above 16 ft it must comply with underlying zoning setbacks, unless above a garage, which would have 5 ft side and rear setbacks. Front yard: state law bars front setbacks from preventing an ADU of at least 800 sq ft; an ADU under 800 sq ft may encroach into front setbacks; above 800 sq ft it must meet underlying front setbacksBuilder guides (SnapADU; Proteus; Suncoast: '4 ft on the side and the rear property lines, but the front yard setback still needs to be met'). State law via SnapADU for the front-yard rule.
Building separation5–6 ft cited by different builder guides — confirm with the cityCONFLICT, flagged not resolved: 5 ft minimum, measured eave to eave, between a detached ADU and all other buildings/structures (SnapADU, builder guide) vs 6 ft fire-safety separation (Proteus, builder guide). Do not resolve; publish as '5–6 ft cited by different builder guides — confirm with the city.'
Junior ADU (JADU)No more than 500 sq ft, contained entirely within an existing one-family dwelling; efficiency kitchen with cooking facility, food-preparation counter, and storage cabinets; sanitation may be separate or shared with the primary residence; owner must occupy either the primary residence or the JADU; JADU cannot be sold or conveyed separately; deed restriction must be recorded (builder detail: detached JADU not allowed; maximum 1 bedroom; maximum height 16 ft, single story, cannot be split between two floors; subject to yearly audit by the City Attorney)City ADU page (city-published) + builder detail (Suncoast, builder guide). AB 1154 bathroom exception currency: to verify — state law (eff. Jan 1, 2026) ties the JADU owner-occupancy exception to whether the JADU has its own bathroom; Vista's city page states the occupancy rule without the exception. Do not publish the exception as a Vista rule until confirmed.
ParkingBase rule (third-party): one additional covered or uncovered parking space per unit. No space required when: within a half-mile walking distance of public transit including bus stops; within an established/architecturally and historically significant historic district; converted from existing space of a primary residence or accessory structure, or attached to an existing/proposed primary residence; on-street parking permits required but not offered to the occupant; car-share vehicle within one block. JADU parking: none required. If a space is required, it may be located within setbacks and in an existing driveway as tandem parking (builder guide)Base rule and exemptions are builder/third-party sourced — the full code parking section (§18.31.070) was NOT read. Publish with that label, not as code text. SnapADU lists 3 exemptions; InstaDev lists 5; the state-law set has 5–6 — do not present SnapADU's 3-item list as the complete exemption set. Replacement parking: conflicting third-party statements (SnapADU: no replacement needed, consistent with SB 1211 state law barring replacement parking; InstaDev: uncovered spaces replaced, covered not) — publish as a conflict; state law bars replacement parking for demolished/converted parking — confirm the code section with the city.
Minimum rental termNo less than 30 consecutive days for ADUs and JADUs. Short-term rentals are not permitted within ADUs or JADUsCode §18.31.030(C) (code text) + City ADU page FAQ (city-published). Owner-occupancy: none for standard ADUs (state law; Proteus confirms).
Impact fees≤750 sq ft: impact fees waived per state law (SB-13). >750 sq ft: fees calculated proportionally to the main residence's square footage (builder guide; example: 2,000 sq ft main house + 1,000 sq ft ADU = 50% of impact fees). If the ADU exceeds the square footage of the main residence, full impact and permitting fees are charged (builder guide). School fees: charged if the ADU is ≥500 sq ft (builder guide)State floor + builder-reported city practice. The ≤750 sq ft waiver is confirmed on the city's own Fee Waiver FAQ page (city-published): ADUs under 750 sq ft are not eligible for the fee-waiver program precisely because those fees 'are now waived automatically under SB-13.' The $15,000 figure in the builder example is a builder example, not a city fee schedule, and must not be published as one. School fees: builder guide citing Vista USD.
Permit feesNot published — to confirm. Plan-check fees waived when the city's pre-approved plans are used (city-published)No city-published ADU fee total found. The city publishes a general Fee Schedule (as of July 1, 2026) but ADU totals were not extracted — to verify against that schedule. Builder-only figures, do NOT publish as city fees: $8–$16/sq ft permit costs (SnapADU); price-estimate sheet by emailing Development Services with address, ADU type, and square footage, returned within 5 business days (builder-reported city practice). Plan-check fees WAIVED when the city's pre-approved plans are used (city page) — that waiver is city-published and is the one fee fact solid enough to publish.
Multifamily lotsAt least 2 detached ADUs for multifamily lots with an existing multifamily building (a duplex counts; a single-family dwelling alone does not). Up to the number of existing units, maximum 8 detached ADUs (SB 1211, eff. Jan 1, 2025). Conversions: minimum 1 ADU, up to 25% of existing multifamily units, from non-habitable spaceState law + builder guides; Vista code text for multifamily counts NOT read — label accordingly. Single-family combination (builder-reported city confirmation, Aug 2026): SnapADU states that as of August 2026 the City of Vista confirmed a single-family property may combine one standard ADU (§66314) + one detached ADU up to 800 sq ft (§66323) + one ADU from existing space + one JADU up to 500 sq ft — consistent with HCD's 2026 ADU Handbook framework, but the 'city confirmed' claim is builder-reported only; publish it as state-law framework with the builder attribution, or confirm with the city first.
Overlays to checkCoastal: none — confirmed (inland city; no areas subject to Coastal requirements). Fire: parts of Vista are mapped Very High, High, or Moderate; maps are not property-specific — look up the address on the city's fire hazard severity zone map page. ADU-specific: sprinklers not required if not required for the primary (§18.31.030(F), code text); verify sprinkler need with the Fire Department (builder guide)Per-parcel checks required. Fire: third-party summary of the city's Fire Department position + draft Safety Element (May 14, 2025, city document via CAL FIRE host, a planning document not an ADU rule). Do NOT publish Vista FHSZ acreage — no Vista-specific acreage figure was found (the Chula Vista 8,939-acre Very High figure in the same third-party source family is a different city and must not be imported). Hillside: no ADU-specific rule found (Proteus lists hillside/slope lots as conditional with geotechnical report required — generic, not Vista-sourced). Flood: no ADU-specific rule found. Historic: no mapped Vista historic-district ADU rule found (Proteus lists historic districts as conditional with design review — generic).

Pre-approved plans — 10 options, plan-check fees waived

City ADU page (city-published): 'Pre-Approved ADU Plans are Here! The following plans are available for download. When these pre-approved plans are utilized, plan check fees are waived! Permit and inspection fees are still applicable. The City of Vista offers the following 10 plan options:' Studio — 499 sq ft; 1 Bedroom, 1 Bath — 600 sq ft; 1 Bedroom, 1 Bath — 800 sq ft; 1 Bedroom, 1.5 Bath — 1,000 sq ft; 2 Bedroom, 1 Bath — 749 sq ft; 2 Bedroom, 2 Bath — 745 sq ft; 2 Bedroom, 1 Bath — 1,200 sq ft; 2 Bedroom, 2 Bath — 1,200 sq ft; 3 Bedroom, 1 Bath — 1,200 sq ft; 3 Bedroom, 2 Bath — 1,194 sq ft. County plans also accepted: the submittal list references 'County of San Diego ADU Plans' with their own truss/Title 24 requirements — so Vista accepts County standard plans in addition to its own 10. To verify: whether the AB 1332 30-day review track applies to these plans (the city page does not state a 30-day track — do not claim it); whether the plans are free to download (page says 'available for download' but states no price — do not claim 'free'); and current availability (page crawl August 2026; confirm the list is still live before publishing it as current). History note (third-party, context only): a December 2023 council discussion had council directing staff to review Encinitas' pre-prepared plans and discussing creating Vista's own — that discussion predates the live program and must not be presented as the program's status.

ADU Fee Waiver Program — affordable rentals

Chapter 18.31 provides for certain fees to be waived in the development of ADUs over 750 sq ft when rented affordably under a regulatory agreement (city-published program). Mechanics (city FAQ page): the covenant agreement must be filed along with the building permit (building permit number must be included); the program cannot be completed retroactively once fees are paid; occupancy certification within 30 days of any new tenant and annually thereafter; maximum allowable rent is based on area median income for the household size (not the tenant's income); utilities can be added on top of the affordable base rent; CalHFA ADU Grant Program noted as a financing option. Covenant agreements must be mailed/delivered to the Housing Division, 200 Civic Center Drive, Vista, CA 92084. The exact fees waived and income thresholds are to verify (the program page itself beyond the FAQ was not opened). Separately, ADUs under 750 sq ft are not eligible precisely because those fees 'are now waived automatically under SB-13' (city FAQ page).

Permit path

Ministerial decision window: 60 days (state law). No Vista-published timeline was read; publish the 60-day window as state law, not as a Vista-published timeline. Builder timeline (label as such): standard 3–5 months (SnapADU); coastal timeline N/A. Submission method — conflict between two builder guides, flagged: SnapADU: 'Yes, Vista requires in-person submission of plans and does not accept digital applications at this time.' Proteus: 'Submit complete application package to Vista Building Department (online or in person).' The city ADU page's submittal list — '3 Sets of plans (24x36-inches)' plus a to-scale site plan — leans paper, but the city page does not state an in-person-only rule. Publish as: submission route is stated differently by builder guides; the city page lists paper plan sets — confirm the current intake route with Development Services. Submittal sequence (city-published, ADU page): some projects may require a grading plan submittal prior to building construction drawings (contact Land Development Division, 760.639.6111); building submittal requires a Building Permit Application + 3 plan sets (24×36) + detailed to-scale site plan; for County of San Diego ADU plans only, manufactured wood roof truss drawings/calculations and a Title 24 energy compliance report (CF1R) are also required; plans cannot be accepted prior to clearance by Vista's Land Development Engineering Division (grading review); for septic properties, prior clearance by the San Diego County Health Department is required. Contacts (city-published, ADU page): Community Development counter, 200 Civic Center Drive, 1st Floor, Vista, CA 92084; Planning 760.639.6100; Development Services 760.639.6108; Engineering 760.639.6111. Counter hours: 8:30 am–5:30 pm Monday–Thursday, 8:30 am–4:30 pm every other Friday. Soils (builder guide): Vista typically requires a soils report for all new construction including ADUs; per the city in June 2025, for simple flat lots a soils waiver can be used instead — waiver typically $1–2K (builder figure, not a city fee). Stormwater (builder guide): site drainage and stormwater mitigation required — finish grading, bio-swale, drainage basin, or contouring, 'around $5–10K in most cases' (builder estimate, not a city figure).

Separate sale (AB 1033) — qualified-buyer clause in code text; condo conversion unconfirmed

Code §18.31.030(B) (code text): the ADU 'is not intended for sale separate from the Primary Residence, unless sold or conveyed separately to a qualified buyer in compliance with California Government Code Section 65852.26.' Section 65852.26 is the pre-renumbering citation for the AB 1033 qualified-buyer provision (now §66341). Publishable reading: Vista's code already contemplates qualified-buyer separate sale — but the citation is stale (pre-2024 renumbering) and the code copy is 2022-era, so confirm the current text with the city before presenting this as current law. JADUs can never be sold separately (city ADU page). Condominium-conversion ordinance (AB 1033 §66342 opt-in): NOT found for Vista — no council action, ordinance, or builder-guide statement of a Vista condo program was located. Publish as: no Vista AB 1033 condominium-conveyance ordinance verified — to confirm. Do NOT conflate: the County of San Diego's AB 1033 adoption (Board vote March 4, 2026, effective April 4, 2026) applies to unincorporated areas only, not the City of Vista.

Conflicts to confirm — stacked ADUs, separation, submission, parking

Four conflicts the page does not resolve: (1) Stacked ADUs — October 2025 city-attorney 'not allowed' vs July 2026 written 'allowed' (both via SnapADU); confirm the current position in writing, ideally via a Zoning Verification Letter precedent. (2) Building separation — 5 ft eave-to-eave (SnapADU) vs 6 ft (Proteus). (3) Submission route — in-person only (SnapADU) vs online-or-in-person (Proteus); city page lists paper plan sets. (4) Parking — full §18.31.070 text unread: base count, complete exemption list, and replacement-parking treatment (SnapADU vs InstaDev conflict). Underlying all four: the fullest code copy retrieved reflects code through Ordinance No. 2022-16 (October 4, 2022) and still cites the deleted §65852.2/§65852.26 numbering — whether Vista amended Chapter 18.31 in 2024–2026 is unconfirmed; read the current code text against the city's current code publisher.

AB 956 (effective January 1, 2027) — to verify

No Vista publication on how it will apply AB 956 was located. Builder-guide context only (SnapADU): AB 956 increases the state-exempt detached allowance under §66323 from one to two units beginning January 1, 2027, which 'could create a pathway to three detached ADUs when combined with a standard ADU under Section 66314, but that interpretation still needs further HCD guidance and confirmation from Vista,' and the expanded allowance 'also changes whether a JADU must be approved.' Publishable line: AB 956 takes effect January 1, 2027 (two detached ADUs per single-family lot under state law); how Vista applies it is to verify. Do not publish any city-specific application, including any second-unit size cap.

Rent calculator

Defaults below are EXAMPLES — editable placeholders, not verified local rent or cost data. Type your own numbers.

Verified builders in San Diego County

One metro-level profile per builder, linked from every city page they serve. Profiles are never duplicated per city, so a correction lands everywhere at once.

Better Place

CSLB #1031735 (as published by the builder) — CSLB check pending

View profile

SnapADU

CSLB check pending

View profile

Frequently asked questions

Does Vista offer pre-approved ADU plans?

Yes — and this is one of Vista's strongest features. City ADU page (city-published): 'Pre-Approved ADU Plans are Here! The following plans are available for download. When these pre-approved plans are utilized, plan check fees are waived! Permit and inspection fees are still applicable. The City of Vista offers the following 10 plan options:' Studio 499 sq ft; 1 Bedroom, 1 Bath 600 sq ft; 1 Bedroom, 1 Bath 800 sq ft; 1 Bedroom, 1.5 Bath 1,000 sq ft; 2 Bedroom, 1 Bath 749 sq ft; 2 Bedroom, 2 Bath 745 sq ft; 2 Bedroom, 1 Bath 1,200 sq ft; 2 Bedroom, 2 Bath 1,200 sq ft; 3 Bedroom, 1 Bath 1,200 sq ft; 3 Bedroom, 2 Bath 1,194 sq ft. The city also accepts County of San Diego ADU Plans (with their own truss/Title 24 requirements). To verify: whether the AB 1332 30-day review track applies to these plans (the city page does not state a 30-day track — do not claim it); whether downloads are free (the page says 'available for download' but states no price — do not claim 'free'); and current availability (page crawl August 2026).

Can I get ADU fees waived in Vista?

Chapter 18.31 provides for certain fees to be waived in the development of ADUs over 750 sq ft when rented affordably under a regulatory agreement (city-published program). Mechanics (city FAQ page): the covenant agreement must be filed along with the building permit (building permit number must be included); the program cannot be completed retroactively once fees are paid; occupancy certification within 30 days of any new tenant and annually thereafter; maximum allowable rent is based on area median income for the household size (not the tenant's income); utilities can be added on top of the affordable base rent; CalHFA ADU Grant Program noted as a financing option. Covenant agreements must be mailed/delivered to the Housing Division, 200 Civic Center Drive, Vista, CA 92084. The exact fees waived and income thresholds are to verify (the program page itself beyond the FAQ was not opened). Separately, ADUs under 750 sq ft are not eligible for the program precisely because those fees 'are now waived automatically under SB-13' (city FAQ page).

Can ADUs be stacked or two-story in Vista?

Contradictory — confirm in writing per parcel; do not publish either position as settled. SnapADU's FAQ quotes an October 2025 email from a Junior Planner, City of Vista Community Development: 'Our City Attorney office has determined that stacked ADUs or two-story ADUs are not allowed.' SnapADU's body text, updated July 2026, says Vista 'recently confirmed in writing that stacked ADUs are allowed: two-story buildings with up to two ADUs per structure, governed by the 35-foot zone limit,' notes the city previously said they were not allowed, calls the interpretation 'still evolving,' and recommends requesting a Zoning Verification Letter. Separately, SnapADU reports the planning department confirmed in October 2025 that 'the one-story ADUs can be attached to each other' (builder guide).

Can I sell an ADU separately from the house in Vista?

Qualified-buyer sale appears in the (2022-era) code text; condominium conversion is unverified. Code §18.31.030(B) (code text): the ADU 'is not intended for sale separate from the Primary Residence, unless sold or conveyed separately to a qualified buyer in compliance with California Government Code Section 65852.26.' Section 65852.26 is the pre-renumbering citation for the AB 1033 qualified-buyer provision (now §66341). Publishable reading: Vista's code already contemplates qualified-buyer separate sale — but the citation is stale (pre-2024 renumbering) and the code copy is 2022-era, so confirm the current text with the city before presenting this as current law. No Vista AB 1033 condominium-conveyance ordinance was found — to confirm. JADUs can never be sold separately (city ADU page). The County of San Diego's AB 1033 adoption applies to unincorporated areas only, not the City of Vista.

Sources

Not legal advice. This page is a starting point, not a parcel approval. Confirm your lot with the city before you build, buy, or sign anything.

Report an outdated rule

Rules change. If something on this page no longer matches the city's current rules, tell us what changed and where you saw it. Reporting is not wired to a destination yet — your note stays on this page and is not sent anywhere.

Thanks — reporting is not wired yet, so this note was not sent. It will be connected before launch.